Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM).
ALLDATA Online
ALLDATA Online, the world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
Available only within our buildings.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Alt Health Watch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, & integrated approaches to health care & wellness.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Ancestry | Library Edition
This comprehensive genealogy database contains over 2 billion names and includes U.S.Census records, passenger lists, genealogical charts, and the Ancestry World Tree.
Available only within our buildings.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of detailed archival collections held by libraries, museums, historical societies, & archives worldwide.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
ArticleFirst
Describes items listed on the table of contents pages of individual issues of over 12,000 journals.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Biography Resource Center
Biographies of more than 180,000 people from throughout history.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Brainfuse
Brainfuse is the nation's leading provider of one-to-one tutoring to students, offering online tutoring in math, reading, and writing (grades 3-12). Anytime, day or night, 7 days a week.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Encyclopedia content plus news headlines, safe Web sites, engaging multimedia, & a customizable workspace.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Offers separate home pages for adults & children, providing age-appropriate encyclopedia content for everyone.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Britannica Online School Edition
Provides access to four encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics & age-appropriate language. For K-12.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Business & Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Business Source Premier
This database includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals offering indexing and abstracts for the 350 scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
BYKI Online
Byki is a powerful language learning system that uses flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases. It is the fastest possible way to lock foreign words and phrases in your long term memory..
NOTE: You will be required to create an account. Once you have created your account you will be able to access Byki Online from any computer with Internet access.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
CAMIO (Catalog of American Museum Images Online)
Shows works of art from around the world, representing the collections of 24 prominent museums including The Minneapolis Institute of Arts & Walker Art Center.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
CLASE/PERIODICA
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in social sciences & humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science & technology
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support the information needs of patients & to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, & integrated medinine.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Consumers' Checkbook
This nonprofit consumer information resource provides ratings of Twin Cities area services.
Available only within our buildings.
Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Discovering Collection
Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Duluth News - Tribune
Archives of the Duluth News-Tribune.
Available only within our buildings.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Search all 4 Ebsco databases at once with MegaFILE.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Educator's Reference Complete
Focuses on educational principles, child development & psychology, and best practices in education.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Electronic Books
Index of records for more than 665,000 eBooks that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including titles from NetLibrary & other providers.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Electronic Collections Online A&I
Provides bibliographic information for more than 5,000 electronic journals.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
ERIC (OCLC)
The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing full-text articles and over 1,000,000 citations. Provides access to education literature & resources.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Expanded Academic ASAP
Covers art, humanities, social sciences, science & technology. Includes scholarly journals, news magazines, & newspapers.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
General Science Collection
Over 200 journals, providing researchers with information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
GPO Monthly Catalog
Lists all types of government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates & records, judiciary materials, & executive documents.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Grant Select
The most comprehensive source of available funding opportunities, GrantSelect comprises nine customized segments containing approximately 10,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 4,000 sponsoring organizations.
Available only within our buildings.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, pamphlets, 130+ health reference books & 5,100 Clinical Reference Systems reports ( in English & Spanish.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including strong coverage of nursing & allied health.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Informe
A collection of hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Available within our buildings and from remote locations.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Designed for middle school students. Includes full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, & reference books.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
InfoTrac Kids Edition
Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students. Includes full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, & reference books. Also has historical images and maps.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Junior Reference Collection
Search for people, places subjects. books, words, and timelines.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits gives children easy access to magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles that have been selected just for their age group. Aimed at grades K-5.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Learning Express Library
Learning Express Library is the leading source of test preparation materials and interactive practice exams.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
LitFINDER
Includes Poem Finder--the ultimate poetry reference on the Web; and Story Finder--a full-text anthology of classic and contemporary short stories, and Essay Finder--full-text essays in humanities and social sciences.
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 2,053 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 350 reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,132 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier now offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
MAS Ultra-School Edition
For High School students. Contains full text for high school magazines, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps & flags, & reference books. Lexiles provided.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Medline
Index of thousands of records covering all areas of medicine, public health, nursing,dentistry, veterinary medicine, & the basic biomedical sciences.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Middle Search Plus
For Middle School students. Covers magazines, biographies, primary source documents & reference books.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Minnesota Library Information Network (MnLINK)
Search several library catalogs and databases at once! Ramsey County Library is an official gateway library to MnLINK.
NetLibrary
Diverse collection of entire books in electronic format, also listed in the library's catalog.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
New York Historical Newspaper, 1867-2006
The Historical New York Times covering from 1851 - 2006.
Novelist Plus
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive online readers’ advisory tool. Using NoveList Plus, you can search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Novelist K-8 Plus
Designed especially for elementary and middle school students, NoveList K-8 Plus is an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OAIster
Union catalog of digital resources, including descriptive information about each resource.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Power Search
PowerSearch allows cross-searching of Thomson Gale databases and e-resources.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Primary Search
For elementary students. Covers magazines, eneyclopedias, dictionaries, photos, maps, & flags. Lexiles provided.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
ProceedingsFirst
Index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Professional Collection
The Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Professional Development Collection
For educators, researchers, & librarians.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Search magazines, newspapers and more! Full text articles are included.
ProQuest Discovery
ProQuest Magazines
ProQuest Newspapers (all papers)
National Newspaper Abstracts
ProQuest Historical Newspapers:
Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
The New York Times (1867-2006)
From outside the library:
You may use any of the links above to access these databases from outside the library. However, after you enter your barcode you may be taken to an index page with many of the databases already selected. You may individually de-select the ones you do not wish to search or you may use the "Clear all databases" link to remove all selections and manually select the databases you wish to search. The Historical Newspapers must be searched separately from the other ProQuest databases and are located near the bottom of the index page.
ReferenceUSA
ReferenceUSA is a directory of U.S. companies.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Regional Business News
With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications with full text for more than 60 sources.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Salem Health
This database is based on the print resouce, "Magill's Medical Guide". It covers diseases, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, etc.
Science Reference Center
Covers biology, chemistry, environment, & life sciences. Correlated to state & national curriculum standards.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
St. Cloud Times
Archives of the St. Cloud Times newspaper.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Archives of the St. Paul Pioneer Press newspaper.
Access to articles is free of charge within the library.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Star Tribune Online
Minnesota Newspapers
Star Tribune Image Edition
Minneapolis Newspaper - Image Edition.
Archives of the Star Tribune newspaper.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Student Resource Center Gold
For high school students. Useful for homework & in-depth research assignments. Includes reference works, biographies, essays, overviews, primary works, images, & periodical articles.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
USA Today
- Search full text coverage: Feb 17, 1997 - current.
Wall Street Journal
- Search full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current.
Washington Post
- Search full text coverage: Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996.
What Do I Read Next?
An easy and fun-to-use one-stop source for expert recommendations on classic, mainstream or genre fiction and nonfiction titles covering a wide range of subjects for all age levels.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
World Almanac/Book of Facts
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
WorldCat
Searchable catalog of books, web resources and other materials worldwide.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
WorldCat Dissertations & Theses
Provides access to the records of the dissertations & theses available in OCLC member libraries.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)*
ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Children, Families & Learning.